BeGroovy Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2017, 03:05:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Welcome to the BeGroovy Forums. Let us know what you think of the Haiku Alpha 4.1 release.
35809 Posts in 5215 Topics by 289 Members
Latest Member: macsociety
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  BeGroovy Forums
|-+  General
| |-+  Haiku & BeOS Discussion (Moderators: Deej, Euan Kirkhope (UK), Chinasaur, Cougar)
| | |-+  Zeta in the USA
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Zeta in the USA  (Read 21334 times)
jefro
Global Moderator
Addicted to Groove
*****
Posts: 1179


« on: July 22, 2005, 02:25:10 PM »

I don't like to post links to companies but here is a link to a company that I have purchased beos from in the past.
http://store.purplus.net/zetadeluxe.html
I think you get an extra $10 off with a coupon code zeta10.

Logged

My amigo said "Hard work never killed a fella, but there is no use risking it." I am beginning to think he is right. What if it could kill me? I just can't take the chance.
Chinasaur
Global Moderator
Groovin' in Style
*****
Posts: 367


Downsized


« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2005, 08:34:59 PM »

I don't want a flame war..but..

How many are running Zeta?

I'm considering buying (well not reallyl..I AM going to buy) and wanted to know what people thought about the distro so I know what to expect.

Happy Weekend All!!!
Logged

The Blues is number one in Menlo Park.
the_leander
Gettin' Into the Groove
**
Posts: 56


« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2005, 04:29:16 PM »

I don't want a flame war..but..

How many are running Zeta?

I'm considering buying (well not reallyl..I AM going to buy) and wanted to know what people thought about the distro so I know what to expect.

Happy Weekend All!!!

I'm running it, though I will say this, it will either work perfectly on your system, or it won't work at all, at least that seems to be the general pattern.

And when it says it needs 64mb's of ram to run IT REALLY DOES  Laughing
Logged
Egregius
Groovin' Hardcore
****
Posts: 131


« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2005, 05:17:43 PM »

Well, 64 isn't exactly a lot.
Logged
h_ank
Addicted to Groove
*****
Posts: 829


« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2005, 10:44:16 PM »

I intend to buy it soon.  R5 won't boot on my new motherboard and I would like some of the new features, but I would like to have it as close to Haiku as it can get while still working.
Logged

Vote h_ank for Supreme Overlord and never have to vote again!
Balzac
Groovin' Hardcore
****
Posts: 138


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2005, 10:06:48 AM »

Is it true that it won't run on dual P3 machines?
Logged
jefro
Global Moderator
Addicted to Groove
*****
Posts: 1179


« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2005, 04:14:57 PM »

Dunno about Zeta but there is a kernel patch for the AMD's that will not allow one to boot dual P3's. If you edit it back to the original GenuineINTEL then it should work.
Logged

My amigo said "Hard work never killed a fella, but there is no use risking it." I am beginning to think he is right. What if it could kill me? I just can't take the chance.
Deej
Administrator
Addicted to Groove
*****
Posts: 1358


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2005, 07:39:42 AM »

Dunno, but will soon... just ordered it from Purplus yesterday (thanks for the link jefro).  I'll report back here as soon as I get it, and get some time for BeOS on my systems (still need to find out if plain jane R5 will work on that new system I built).  Maybe within the next week or two I'll be able to sit down on those computers for other than needed stuff.
Logged

Deej
the_leander
Gettin' Into the Groove
**
Posts: 56


« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2005, 07:50:10 AM »

Is it true that it won't run on dual P3 machines?

Certainly some Dual P3 systems are affected, but I don't think all of them are, at least, I've not heard anything to that effect. Scsi is also broken in Zeta R1
Logged
ronaldst
Groovin'Baby
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2005, 07:38:55 PM »

I don't like to post links to companies but here is a link to a company that I have purchased beos from in the past.
http://store.purplus.net/zetadeluxe.html
I think you get an extra $10 off with a coupon code zeta10.


The coupon still works too.  Zeta came down to 89$ US. Cool
Logged

best regards,
Ronald
Deej
Administrator
Addicted to Groove
*****
Posts: 1358


WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2005, 07:48:24 AM »

Ooops, I totally didn't even catch the coupon code thing... paid $99!  Razz
Logged

Deej
jefro
Global Moderator
Addicted to Groove
*****
Posts: 1179


« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2005, 05:49:06 PM »

Saw it as zeta10wow also. I assume that my friends could use it also.
Logged

My amigo said "Hard work never killed a fella, but there is no use risking it." I am beginning to think he is right. What if it could kill me? I just can't take the chance.
Deej
Administrator
Addicted to Groove
*****
Posts: 1358


WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2005, 07:04:08 AM »

Tossed it in my work computer when it arrived just to see it, as I had never loaded/seen any version of Zeta before... looks pretty sweet.  Nice install, nice default look, lots o' apps preloaded - and no CPU Fix or RAM limiter needed at the get go.  The one thing I noticed right away that I wouldn't have noticed if it hadn't - A Color Install!!!  It's been so long since I've used any video cards that were supported by default!  Razz
Logged

Deej
ronaldst
Groovin'Baby
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2005, 10:56:35 AM »

Mine shipped yesterday.  After the canadian border customs people finish playing with it, Ima have it in my hands. Laughing Cool
Logged

best regards,
Ronald
jefro
Global Moderator
Addicted to Groove
*****
Posts: 1179


« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2005, 01:57:03 PM »

Thanks for the reports.

Hopefully the boarder inspectors don't keep it and switch it with windows.
Logged

My amigo said "Hard work never killed a fella, but there is no use risking it." I am beginning to think he is right. What if it could kill me? I just can't take the chance.
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.15 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!